Finding a right partner!

About three and a half months ago I had started my search for an eligible bachelor or rather a perfect suitor for my arranged marriage. I belong to a conventional, fairly traditional South Indian family. So after I completed my education and got a stable job my parents decided (after ages of ignorance towards over eager relatives who wished to see me hitched) that it was the correct time for me to get married.

So started series of visits to the fortune tellers and pundits who could check my future and they all agreed that my stars too agreed in unison for my wedding to be fixed soon. Needless to say we used the most famous of the online marriage portals which claimed to find me my perfect match right in the comfort of my own house. I must say I always had a great interest to get married in a very traditional style with all the rituals and my friends and closest of relatives by my side. This was the time I excitedly made my wedding profile and shared it with my parents mentioning my details and my expectations.

Then began the search. There were different kinds of people and different kinds of approaches for wedding proposals. There were guys which were very proud of what they achieved and expected us to be proud of them too. There were people who considered their son to be a rarest gem and thus had their nose in the clouds when they spoke highly of their sons achievement. There were quite a few international proposals who were so sure that a NRI(Non Resident Indian) is so hard to reject their statement were literally like, “so we like your daughters profile and our son is okay with it too. Ask your daughter if she has any questions and we can meet then”. I was first of all not interested in any NRI proposals mainly because spouse visas do not allow them to do a job and I was in no way looking forward to bid my hard learned career goodbye. Then there were few overly defensive parents who had a little aged sons who literally threatened my mum on call saying it would be my misfortune to turn the proposal down and I being a gal should consider it as my luck that they chose me. Ha! Well I guess you can assume where I asked mom to stick their attitude! Basically I may sound quite judgemental but at that point all of this was so taxing on my mental health that it seemed that there was no match for me only in two weeks of the process and meeting 0 guys.

Then my first meet was fixed with a guy whose parents had decided I was the most perfect suitor for the guy and spoke to my parents on call for hours but on the contrary the guy seemed to be least interested. The guy least responded when contacted and after two postponed meetings cancelled our fixed date. Naturally his over enthusiastic parents who proved my parents also completely disappeared.

Then I sent two guys interest being tired of my parents choices. I thought I could might as well find my choice of guy. Among them one wasn’t a suitor as per the stars but coaxed a lot into convincing me that all the horoscope thing was total crap. The other guy accepted after a couple of days and contacted me. After that started the horoscope matching sessions where it was clear that our stars agreed upon our future possibility of marriage. I would also like to mention that I am not a very strong believer of astrology but somewhere I have it mind that horoscopes do have high probability of matching the nature of a person. Though it wasn’t a make or break phenomenon for me it was for my parents.

The guy whose horoscope matched with mine is now my Fiance and luckily is madly in love with me and so am I! Today as I am stuck in this nationwide lockdown reminiscing the memories of the two to three weeks of my groom search which was luckily a very short one, I dedicate this post to my love with whom I am celebrating 100 days of togetherness with endless memories which I hope to share soon.

Leave a comment